Faculty Members

composite photo with some Philosophy faculty members

photo of Kristin AndrewsKristin Andrews

(Ph.D., Minnesota)
York Research Chair in Animal Minds, Associate Professor

Email: andrewsk@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of psychology, with a focus on folk psychology, animal cognition, and methodologies in cognitive psychology

 


photo of jacob beckJacob Beck

(Ph.D., Harvard)
Associate Professor

Email: jbeck@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of cognitive science and philosophy of mind, especially issues concerning mental representation

 


photo of Idil BoranIdil Boran

(Ph.D., Queen’s)
Associate Professor

Email: iboran@yorku.ca
Web Page

Ethics, applied ethics, political philosophy, philosophy and public policy, with special focus on issues in climate change, business ethics, distributive justice, and international relations

 


Christopher Campbell

(Ph.D., Pittsburgh)
Chair, Department of Philosophy at Glendon College, Associate Professor

Email: ccampbell@glendon.yorku.ca

Philosophy of logic and language, the history of analytic philosophy, Wittgenstein

 


Lorraine Code

(Ph.D., Guelph, F.R.S.C.)
Distinguished Research Professor Emerita

Email: codelb@yorku.ca

Epistemology, feminist philosophy, and ecological thinking, ethics, political theory, and twentieth century philosophy with special attention to Beauvoir, Foucault, and Wittgenstein

 


photo of Susan DimockSusan Dimock

(Ph.D., Dalhousie)
Professor

Email: dimock@yorku.ca
Web Page

Theoretical and practical ethics, political philosophy, philosophy of law, punishment theory, early modern history of philosophy

 


photo of Michael GilbertMichael A. Gilbert

(Ph.D., Waterloo)
Professor

Email: gilbert@yorku.ca
Web Page

Argumentation theory, informal logic, critical reasoning, gender theory, transgender theory

 


photo of Michael GiudiceMichael Giudice

(Ph.D., McMaster)
Graduate Program Director, Associate Professor

Email: giudice@yorku.ca
Web Page

Legal philosophy and associated areas in political and moral theory

 


Joseph Gonda

(Ph.D., Penn. State)
Professor

Email: jgonda@glendon.yorku.ca

History of philosophy, existentialism, aesthetics, history of science, hermeneutics, early modern and ancient philosophy

 


Verena Gottschling

(Ph.D., Mainz)
Cognitive Science Program Director, Associate Professor

Email: vgott@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of psychology, philosophy of cognitive science, with a focus on mindreading, emotion, decision making, mental representation, and cognitive architecture

 


photo of Jagdish HattiangadiJagdish Hattiangadi

(Ph.D., Princeton)
Professor

Email: jagdish@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of science, history of ideas, philosophy of language, and epistemology and metaphysics

 


Louis-Philippe Hodgson

(Ph.D., Harvard)
Associate Professor

Email: lhodgson@glendon.yorku.ca
Web Page

Moral and political philosophy, Kant's practical philosophy, philosophy of law, history of moral and political philosophy, especially social contract theory

 


photo of Henry JackmanHenry Jackman

(Ph.D., Pittsburgh)
Associate Professor

Email: hjackman@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, epistemology, American pragmatism

 

 


David A. Jopling

(D.Phil., Oxford)
Professor

Email: jopling@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of clinical psychology and psychiatry, philosophy of mind, early modern philosophy, human evolution and origins of human cognition

 


photo of Muhammad KhalidiMuhammad Ali Khalidi

(Ph.D., Columbia)
Chair, Professor

Email: khalidi@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of mind and language, philosophy of science (especially cognitive science), medieval Arab-Islamic philosophy

 


photo of Alice MacLachlanAlice MacLachlan

(Ph.D., Boston University)
Associate Professor

Email: amacla@yorku.ca
Web Page

Feminist philosophy, theoretical and applied ethics (with a focus on virtue ethics, moral psychology, and feminist approaches), social and political philosophy

 


photo of Dan McArthurDan McArthur

(Ph.D., Ottawa)
Associate Professor

Email: djmc@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of science (especially philosophy of physics, philosophical naturalism and the realism debate), history of analytic philosophy (especially logical empiricism), ethics (especially applied rational choice theory and ethics and technology)

 


Photo of Esteve MoreraEsteve Morera

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Associate Professor

Email: morera@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of history, social and political philosophy, Marxism, Antonio Gramsci, and  African philosophy

 


Georges Moyal

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Professor

Email: moyal@glendon@yorku.ca

Early modern philosophy (particularly Descartes and Locke),  ancient Greek philosophy

 


photo of Robert MyersRobert Myers

(Ph.D., Berkeley)
Professor

Email: rmyers@yorku.ca
Profile Page

Theoretical ethics, related issues in epistemology and the philosophy of action, and political philosophy

 


photo of Gerard NaddafGerard Naddaf

(Ph.D. Paris IV: Sorbonne)
Professor

Email: naddaf@yorku.ca
Web Page

Ancient Greek philosophy, with a special interest in the origins of philosophy, the Presocratics, and Plato

 


photo of Judy PelhamJudy Pelham

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Associate Professor

Email: pelham@yorku.ca
Web Page

Logic, the history and philosophy of logic, and the early work of Bertrand Russell

 


Francois Tanguay-Renaud

(D.Phil, Oxford)
Associate Professor

Email: FTanguay-Renaud@osgoode.yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of criminal law, constitutional theory, jurisprudence, associated areas of moral and political philosophy with a focus on emergencies, self-defence and punishment theory, and questions of group and state responsibility and blame

 


Stanley Tweyman

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Professor

Email: stweyman@yorku.ca
Web Page

Early modern philosophy, particularly Descartes and Hume,  Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, and Epistemology

 


photo of Claudine VerheggenClaudine Verheggen

(Ph.D., Berkeley)
Professor

Email: cverheg@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of language and related issues in philosophy of Mind, epistemology and metaphysics, Wittgenstein and Davidson

 


Jim Vernon

(Ph.D, Guelph)
Associate Professor

Email: jvernon@yorku.ca
Web Page

19th and 20th Century Continental philosophy, focusing on German Idealism (especially Kant and Hegel) and post-structuralism (especially Derrida and Deleuze)

 


photo of Duff WaringDuff R. Waring

(LL.B., U.N.B.; Ph.D., York)
Undergraduate Program Director, Associate Professor

Email: dwaring@yorku.ca
Web Page

Ethics, political philosophy, bioethics, health law and the philosophy of medicine, particularly psychiatry

 


Associate Members

Brian Huss

Assistant Lecturer (Ph.D., Minnesota)

Email: huss@yorku.ca

Epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of time

 


Joseph Keeping

Associate Professor (Ph.D., York)

Email: keeping@yorku.ca
Web Page

Phenomenology, existentialism, philosophy of mind (especially emotions)

 


photo of Alex ManafuAlex Manafu

(Ph.D., Western)

Email: alexman@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of Science (General, Physics, Chemistry), Metaphysics, Philosophy of Psychology/Psychiatry/Psychotherapy, Philosophical Practice

 

 


Stefan Rodde

(Ph.D., McMaster)

Email: roddesw@yorku.ca
Web Page

Ancient Philosophy, Informal Logic

 


Members Emeriti

Photo of Wesley CraggWesley Cragg

(D.Phil., Oxford)
Professor Emeritus

Email: cragg@home.com
Web Page

Contemporary moral issues, business and occupational ethics, environmental ethics, philosophy of punishment, and social, political and moral theory

 


Claudio Duran

(M.A., Chile)

Email: cduran@yorku.ca

Psychoanalytic theory, social and political thought, and on issues of ideology, propaganda and argumentation in the mass media

 


Ian Jarvie

(D. Phil., London; F.R.S.C.)
Managing Editor of the journal Philosophy of the Social Sciences

Email: jarvie@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of the natural and of the social sciences, philosophy of film

 


John O’Neill

(Ph.D., Stanford, F.R.S.C.).

Email: joneill@yorku.ca
Web Page

Textual theory, psychoanalytic approach, theories of desire, Hegel, Lacan, theories of social justice, Liberal-Communitarianism, human capital and social capital-generalized in debates on globalism, cognitivism

 


Stuart Shanker

(D. Phil., Oxford)
Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus

Email: shanker@yorku.ca

Self-regulation, ape language research, language development, language disorders, and developmental psychology