Faculty Members

composite photo with some Philosophy faculty members

photo of Kristin AndrewsKristin Andrews

Graduate Program Director, (Ph.D., Minnesota)
Email: andrewsk@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of psychology, with a focus on folk psychology, animal cognition, and methodologies in cognitive psychology.

 


photo of jacob beckJacob Beck

(Ph.D., Harvard)
Email: jbeck@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of Cognitive science and philosophy of mind, especially issues concerning mental representation.

 


photo of Idil BoranIdil Boran

(Ph.D., Queen’s)
Email: iboran@yorku.ca
Web Page

Her primary interests are in ethics, applied ethics, political philosophy, philosophy and public policy, with special focus on issues in business ethics, distributive justice, and international relations. She also has an interest in philosophy of science and logical empiricism.

 


Christopher Campbell

(Ph.D., Pittsburgh)
Email: ccampbell@glendon.yorku.ca

His primary interests are in the philosophy of logic and language, the history of analytic philosophy, and Wittgenstein. He also has interests in metaphysics, certain areas of practical philosophy, and the work of certain figures in the history of philosophy.


Lorraine Code

(Ph.D., Guelph, F.R.S.C.)
Email: codelb@yorku.ca

Specialized in epistemology, feminist philosophy, and ecological thinking. She works at the intersection of epistemology, ethics, and political theory, and on twentieth century philosophy with special attention to Beauvoir, Foucault, and Wittgenstein.


Wesley Cragg

(D.Phil., Oxford)Photo of Wesley Cragg
Email: cragg@home.com
Web Page

Prof. Cragg was the George R. Gardiner professor of business ethics. His current research interests include contemporary moral issues, business and occupational ethics, environmental ethics, philosophy of punishment, and social, political and moral theory.


photo of Susan DimockSusan Dimock

(Ph.D., Dalhousie)
Email: dimock@yorku.ca
Web Page

Theoretical and practical ethics, political philosophy, philosophy of law, punishment theory, early modern history of philosophy.

 


photo of Michael GilbertMichael A. Gilbert

(Ph.D., Waterloo)
Email: gilbert@yorku.ca
Web Page

Argumentation theory, informal logic, critical reasoning, gender theory, transgender theory.

 


photo of Michael GiudiceMichael Giudice

(Ph.D., McMaster)
Email: giudice@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Giudice is interested in legal philosophy and associated areas in political and moral theory.

 


Joseph Gonda

(Ph.D., Penn. State)
Email: jgonda@glendon.yorku.ca

History of philosophy, existentialism, aesthetics, history of science, hermeneutics, early modern and ancient philosophy.


Verena Gottschling

(Ph.D., Mainz)
Email: vgott@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of Psychology, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, with a focus on mindreading, emotion, decision making, mental representation, and cognitive architecture.


Christopher Green

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Email: christo@yorku.ca
Web Page

Computational cognitive science; history and philosophy of science, especially of psychology.


photo of Jagdish HattiangadiJagdish Hattiangadi

(Ph.D., Princeton)
Email: jagdish@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Hattiangadi works on philosophy of science, history of ideas,philosophy of language, and epistemology and metaphysics. He is an editor of Philosophy of the Social Sciences, an international journal, from York University.

 


Louis-Philippe Hodgson

(Ph.D., Harvard)
Email: lhodgson@glendon.yorku.ca
Web Page

Moral and political philosophy, Kant's practical philosophy, Philosophy of law, history of moral and political philosophy, especially social contract theory.


photo of Henry JackmanHenry Jackman

(Ph.D., Pittsburgh)
Email: hjackman@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, epistemology, American pragmatism.

 

 


David A. Jopling

(D.Phil., Oxford)
Email: jopling@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of clinical psychology and psychiatry, philosophy of mind, early modern philosophy, human evolution and origins of human cognition.


photo of Muhammad KhalidiMuhammad Ali Khalidi

(Ph.D., Columbia)
Email: khalidi@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Khalidi works on the philosophy of mind and language and the philosophy of science (especially cognitive science). He has also done some research on medieval Arab-Islamic philosophy.

 


photo of Alice MacLachlanAlice MacLachlan

(Ph.D., Boston University)
Email: amacla@yorku.ca
Web Page

Specializes in feminist philosophy, theoretical and applied ethics (with a focus on virtue ethics, moral psychology, and feminist approaches), and in social and political philosophy.

 


photo of Dan McArthurDan McArthur

(Ph.D., Ottawa)
Email: djmc@yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of science, esp. philosophy of physics, philosophical naturalism and the realism debate. History of analytic philosophy esp. logical empiricism. Ethics, esp. applied rational choice theory and ethics and technology.

 


Photo of Esteve MoreraEsteve Morera

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Email: morera@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Morera does research in the philosophy of history, social and political philosophy, Marxism, and the thought of Antonio Gramsci. He also has an interest in African philosophy.

 


Georges Moyal

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Email: moyal@glendon@yorku.ca

Prof. Moyal is interested in early modern philosophy (more particularly Descartes and Locke), and retains some of his early interest in ancient Greek philosophy.


photo of Robert MyersRobert Myers

(Ph.D., Berkeley)
Email: rmyers@yorku.ca
Profile Page

Prof. Myers works on theoretical ethics, related issues in epistemology and the philosophy of action, and political philosophy.

 


photo of Gerard NaddafGerard Naddaf

(Ph.D. Paris IV: Sorbonne).
Email: naddaf@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Naddaf is a specialist in ancient Greek philosophy, with a special interest in the origins of philosophy, the Presocratics and Plato.

 


photo of Judy PelhamJudy Pelham

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Email: pelham@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Pelham works on logic, the history and philosophy of logic, and the early work of Bertrand Russell.

 


Stuart Shanker

(D. Phil., Oxford)
Email: shanker@yorku.ca

Prof. Shanker is currently working in the areas of ape language research, language development, language disorders, and developmental psychology.


Francois Tanguay-Renaud

(D.Phil, Oxford)
Email: FTanguay-Renaud@osgoode.yorku.ca
Web Page

Philosophy of Criminal Law, constitutional Theory, jurisprudence, as well as associated areas of moral and political philosophy with a focus on emergencies, self-defence and punishment theory, and questions of group and state responsibility and blame.


Stanley Tweyman

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Email: stweyman@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Tweyman works in early modern philosophy, particularly Descartes and Hume, and on Philosophy of Religion, Ethics,and Epistemology.


photo of Claudine VerheggenClaudine Verheggen

(Ph.D., Berkeley)
Email: cverheg@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Verheggen works on topics in philosophy of language and related issues in Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology and Metaphysics. She has a special interest in Wittgenstein and Davidson.

 


Jim Vernon

(Ph.D, Guelph)
Email: jvernon@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Vernon works on 19th and 20th Century Continental philosophy, focusing on German Idealism (esp. Kant and Hegel) and post-structuralism (esp. Derrida and Deleuze).


photo of Duff WaringDuff R. Waring

(LL.B., U.N.B.; Ph.D., York)
Email: dwaring@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Waring works in the areas of ethics, political philosophy, bioethics, health law and the philosophy of medicine, particularly psychiatry.

 


Associate Member

Brian Huss

Email: huss@yorku.ca


Joseph Keeping

(Ph.D., York)
Email: keeping@yorku.ca
Web Page

Phenomenology, Existentialism, Philosophy of mind (especially emotions).


Members Emeriti

Claudio Duran

(M.A., Chile)
Email: cduran@yorku.ca

Prof. Duran works in psychoanalytic theory, social and political thought, and on issues of ideology, propaganda and argumentation in the mass media.


Ian Jarvie

(D. Phil., London; F.R.S.C.)
Email: jarvie@yorku.ca
Web Page

Prof. Jarvie specializes in the philosophy of the natural and of the social sciences, and in the philosophy of film. He has been Managing Editor of the journal Philosophy of the Social Sciences since its foundation.


John O’Neill

(Ph.D., Stanford, F.R.S.C.).
Email: joneill@yorku.ca
Web Page

Among his many interests are textual theory, psychoanalytic approach; theories of desire: Hegel to Lacan; theories of social justice: Liberal-Communitarianism; human capital and social capital-generalized in debates on globalism, cognitivism.